Library Senior Management

Meet the Team

Lita Barrie

Chief Executive Officer

barriel@bpl.on.ca

905.639.3611 ext 1100

A lifelong lover of literature and reading, Lita Barrie started her professional librarian career as a bilingual inquiries officer with the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety and serving as a youth services librarian at Hamilton Public Library. She became the manager of children’s services at Brantford Public Library in 2007, and the chief librarian and chief executive officer of Grimsby Public Library in 2010. She joined Hamilton Public Library as a director in 2013, and was responsible for the library’s digital technology, youth services, collections, and program development. In June 2018, Lita became the chief executive officer at Burlington Public Library.

She holds a Master of Library & Information Studies from McGill University, a Bachelor of Fine Arts (Art History) from Concordia University, and certificates in leadership from McMaster University, University of Toronto, and University of Victoria. Lita is active in the library profession as a frequent presenter at conferences and as a sessional lecturer at University of Toronto, Faculty of Information, where she also co-founded the Public Library Leaders Program offered through the iSchool Institute. She has also served in many senior volunteer roles with the Ontario Library Association.

 

Christine Dalgetty

Director, Service Experience

dalgettyc@bpl.on.ca

905.639.3611 ext 1210

 

Linda Dobson

Director, Staff Development & Support

dobsonl@bpl.on.ca

905.639.3611 ext 1104

 

Darcy Glidden

Director, Content, Spaces & Technology

gliddend@bpl.on.ca

905.639.3611 ext 1101

 

Suzanne Hampson

Director, Community Engagement, Marketing Communications & Programming

hampsons@bpl.on.ca

905.639.3611 ext 1105

 

Nicole Tewkesbury

Director, Finance & Organization Measures

tewkesburyn@bpl.on.ca

905.639.3611 ext 1102